Crowe & Shanahan | The Social Security Law Group

Can’t work because of a disability? Call us Toll-Free at 📞 1-877-213-7793 or Locally at 📞 314-231-6660

No initial fees and no fees until your claim is approved.

What should you know about SSDI appeals?

On Behalf of | Jun 15, 2022 | Social Security Disability

If you receive a denial by the Social Security Administration to your request for Social Security Disability Insurance, it is undoubtedly a frustrating experience.

Fortunately, you have the ability to appeal this initial denial. In fact, many people in your position will eventually move on to gain approval for SSDI.

Reconsideration request

The Social Security Administration discusses the four levels of appeals for SSDI. This appeals process exists as a way to ask the SSA to reconsider its decision. Note that not every level is necessary for every applicant, so you may not even have to complete all of them.

First, you need to request a reconsideration. You essentially reach out to someone not involved in the initial ruling on your application and see if they independently reach the same conclusion.

Hearings and appeals

If they agree with the first person who denied the application, you can then request a hearing in front of an administrative law judge. These hearings can potentially take place in person but may also happen online.

In the event that the judge does not rule favorably, you can then ask for the appeals council to look at your case again.

Federal court escalation

Finally, if the appeals council agrees with the other individuals who denied your application or if they refuse to review your case at all, you can escalate to the final level. With this, you have a federal court review your case instead.

Note that you have 60 days after the denial of a claim to begin the appeals process, so it is better not to hesitate or procrastinate.